top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarrie Kendon (Sanders)

Plastic Diamond Faith

Symbols are everywhere. Some we are taught from a young age, some later in life. A quick glance at a symbol can bring up distinct feelings for different people given various circumstances. For example, a symbol for birthdays is cake. For most, birthday cakes evoke happy emotions and drum up memories of fun parties with friends and family. This may not be the case for everyone, but you get the idea.


For most contemporary American girls, diamonds represent glitz and glamour and diamonds represent love. And it has been said that, "diamonds are a girls' best friend". As a teen, I didn't have much of a fashion sense, I couldn't tell you who Louis Vuitton was or on which avenue Saks was located, but I knew I loved diamonds.


A diamond is a symbol of love.

When Joe and I had first began discussing marriage, we chose to forgo a large wedding so that we could save our money for the down payment on our first house, but Joe knew the significance of picking out the perfect diamond ring for my finger. He knew diamonds are a symbol of a promise of commitment. He also knew that because I told him repeatedly, "Emerald cut, 1.08 carat, set in white gold, size 7", no big deal.


A diamond is a symbol of a promise.

Benjamin Franklin said, "There are three things extremely hard: steel, a diamond, and to know one's self". As I have actively and purposefully chosen to transform my life from one of complacency to one of extraordinary opportunity and abundant joy, I have learned a lot about myself.


A diamond is a symbol of transformation.

Looking back to 2013, I seemingly had it all; an incredible husband, two beautiful daughters and a six-figure career. From the outside looking in, everything was wonderful, but I was a mess. I had no idea how much personal growth I needed. Overweight, in debt, drinking alcohol every day; I had no clue that my life, the normal American life, was pitiful. I began to view the world through a different lens and realized I was living a less than life and I wanted my girls to have more. Proverbs 3:15 states, "She is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare with her". That is how I thought of my daughters. A beautiful friend spoke life over me and said, "Carrie, you are a diamond".


Over the next five years, a number of people came into my and family's life that transformed us in ways we never knew were possible. We truly learned that being average is not good enough, we were made to be set apart. To be difference makers, though, meant that I had a lot of personal growth to accomplish. And growing pains hurt.


"Everyone wants to be a diamond, but no one wants to get cut", said Eric Thomas.


I was willing to be cut. I had a decided heart that I would do what it took to be who I said I was. I got cut and it hurt. I lost some old friends but gained my self. I am much stronger because of it.


A diamond is a symbol of strength.

A few weeks ago, I had a great conversation with my friend and business leader about the momentum on my team and the goals for the rest of this year and 2019. We spoke about the pinnacle leadership level in Advocare; the Diamond level, and how I have never questioned whether or not I could or would reach it. I have always believed I will be a Diamond leader, the only question is when.


After our phone call, K sent me an article on the topic of having faith to move mountains. As I was reading it, Clara came bouncing in and said, “oh yeah Mom, this came with your present. I don’t know if it was a mistake or what, but I figured I would give it to you”

It was a diamond! A DIAMOND FELL OUT OF THE BOX! No big deal.


Let me re-emphasize: Clara bought me an alpaca notebook from Etsy. Somehow a plastic diamond found its way into the box with the alpaca notebook. The diamond was not seen upon the initial removal of the notebook, but made it's entrance hours later only after I began reading an article about faith to move mountains. To those who have forgotten how to dream this may be considered a coincidence. For me, the plastic diamond was a God Nod and has now become a symbol of hope.


A diamond is a symbol of hope.

"Invest in the human soul. Who knows, it might be a diamond in the rough." -Daniel Defoe


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page