top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarrie Kendon (Sanders)

Fitting Room Tears

It didn't matter to her in the moment that the jeans were in a kids' size and she is now a young lady. The idea hadn't crossed her mind that she now has hips and should shop in the juniors section. All she knew in those seconds was that the cute shorts were too small, which to her meant she must be "too big". The lies told by the media suddenly felt completely and utterly true: She was "not (good, small, fit, skinny) enough". Thank God I was there to combat the lies.

LIES

Truth can overcome the lies. Hormones of puberty change our bodies and there is little we can do about it but try our best to eat well, exercise and hold on for the ride. Some friends never gain a pound and others gain 20. Some get acne and others not a single pimple. I told her I had been there. Exactly her age. Exactly her height and weight. I had "skinny" friends and "fit" friends and it seemed as if I was the only one whose awkward phase lasted for years. But in those moments little of that mattered. What mattered was the truth for her. All I could do was pull her close and tell her more truth. She is beautiful inside and out. She is strong and compassionate and honest. And most importantly, she was made on purpose for a purpose. We went on to discuss that if she doesn't like how she looked for herself we could work on that, but not because one outfit didn't make the cut. I knew words would only mend the wound just a little --- but finding a few outfits that rocked, fit her perfectly and that she would feel fully confident in would save the day. The bags we lugged home proved: Mission accomplished.

Mission accomplished.

As her mom, I wish I could turn back time and put those shorts back on the rack and avert the incident all together because, although fitting room tears seem like a right of passage,

they are moments that stick in your memory forever. I am so thankful I was there with her. When I was her age, crying those same tears, I was alone. I cleared my face before anyone noticed, went home empty handed and didn't tell a soul. Walking this with her is another step that keeps us close and helps me heal my old wounds a bit in the process.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page