top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarrie Kendon (Sanders)

My Grandpa Grey

I loved sitting with him in his wood shop. He knew that quality takes time. The smell of fresh cut pine and cherry tobacco will always remind me of him.


He was a devoted man; to my Grandma Clara and their 8 children, to the nearly 30 cousins of my generation and over 50 great grandchildren, so far. To his church family, his farm life, and his second chance love, Peggy. He never waivered on his commitments.


His blueberry pancakes are the only ones I ever asked for.


When he played the fiddle, worries were washed away.


He loved his Model T Ford and understood that broken things should be fixed, not replaced.


He walked the walk and pointed me to the Lord. His heart was so kind his eyes smiled.


He was a part of The Greatest Generation for a reason—- because he was and will always be remembered as one of the absolute best for all the reasons above and many more.


My girls call him Grampa Grey-t and I am honored to be a part of his legacy.


I was named after him. My middle name is Kendon. Ken from Grandpa Grey. The weight of being one of his namesakes is not lost on me. May my life reflect all the goodness he showed.



Quite possibly the greatest man I ever knew.

Dance in the rhythms of grace forever, Grandpa.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page