top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarrie Kendon (Sanders)

Start at Matthew: Lessons from Grammie #1

When I was maybe 7 or 8, old enough to read but still small enough to fit into the little kid rocking chair in my grandmothers front room, I chose to read the Bible. After a spell, she entered the room and asked what I was reading. I told her I had read Pee-Salms and was now looking at Pro-verbs, which is fitting because I now fully realize my grandmother was the epitome of a Proverbs 31 woman. As she looked over my shoulder, I told her I had no idea how someone could read the whole thing. The print in her Bible was so tiny, there were so many pages and there were NO pictures! I figured this made her chuckle because she was a librarian and I anticipated she would say what most people would say, “start at the beginning’, but she didn’t. Grammie said, “start at Matthew”.

Start at Matthew, I did, but it would be years before I fully understood what that truly meant. Grammie didn't sit down and explain the gospel to me. She simply pointed me in the right direction, and the Truth met me there.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page